Hiding Behind A Smile

Do people ever tell you that your life looks amazing and you seem so happy all the time? “You’re always smiling and you just seem so full of life!” People tell me these things pretty often. But the truth is, is that some of the time… I’m hiding behind my smile. I don’t want people to know that on the inside I’m shaking, I’m dizzy, my mind is jumping all over, I’m afraid I’m about to pass out or scream or throw up. People who experience this feeling often… I know you get it. We are somehow expected to hold ourselves together in front of others at all times no matter what. Emotional outbursts frighten people. Saying that your day hasn’t been very great when the bank teller asks you how your day has been makes them uncomfortable. So, we lie. We smile brightly and say, “I’m doing well, thank you.”

We hide behind a smile when we are having a shitty day because we don’t want other people to see that we’re actually not doing all that great. Especially to strangers. Americans are constantly searching for ways to be happy but how can we truly be happy if we aren’t allowing ourselves to display our other emotions? The saying “fake it ‘til you make it” doesn’t always work. I don’t know about you but I just don’t think it’s possible to be your happiest unless you are “allowed” to express your other emotions too.

I’m not saying we need to go cry or yell at anyone who walks in our path but we should sure as hell be able to express our negative emotions to our family members and friends. If we don’t let it out we’re just going to be a bunch of sad, quiet, dull assholes. If you have someone in your life that may be smiling or laughing but underneath just simply does not seem okay, then say something! Be there for them like you would want them to be there for you.

People don’t want to hide behind their smiles. They want to let someone know that they are. not. okay. They want that smile to be real. Because our world could use some more authentic smiles.

Let yourself just be. Quit the niceties and be real with yourself.

 

With love,

Emmaline

Leave a comment